Exhibitionism

Want to know a secret?
I only freeze to hide.
Wrapped into my skin,
I turn the heat up when I’m alone
Stretch, skitter down the hallway
bare-footed, bare-headed, bare-faced,
and back into the warmth
Where the steaming water pours through thick air,
When I’m home alone,
I answer the telephone naked,
I dance in the shower, roll like an otter in the bath tub.
But I’m hidden, under covers
Under a thick blanket,
With the lights off and the stereo quiet,
Doors, windows closed,
When the car pulls into the driveway,
They find the thermostat where they left it.

– Claire Leon

Leave a Reply

